Sign in to follow this  
warlock

Model 1 Pictures...please Look...

I got my model 1 kit today. I'm pretty pleased with it so far.

My only question was...when I looked at the buttstock....it seemed awfully light colored compared to the milspec finish of the upper reciever and rest of the gun. Doesn't seem like it matches! Am I just a complete noob at this or what? Maybe it's the light or something? I don't really think that is the case tho............

After checking the model1 website....it appeared as though the buttstocks were darker colored than what I recieved.

Here is a pic

Edited by warlock

Update:

He emailed me today and told me that the stocks come out really hot/dry from the mold.

He said it would help to run some gun oil in it...would darken over time

Will try it and see what happens

B{

Been out of town for a few days, and sorry for the slow reply.

Gun oil will help darken the butstock if you desire it. You may wish to look into some Auto Parts supply places for some "Armor-all" or other product instead of oil. (less slippery).

Also keep in mind that the color difference is even more exaggerated because of the anodized black aluminum handguard. Different material so the color will also seem farther off.

Looks neat!

-Thed

But will a product such as armor all work on a textured surface like the buttstock?

I would look into. I am sure there are some plastic perservative products available out there. Seems to me if it can work on car trim it may work well on a buttstock.

Your call, I just wanted to throw out some options!

-Thed

Update:

He emailed me today and told me that the stocks come out really hot/dry from the mold.

He said it would help to run some gun oil in it...would darken over time

Will try it and see what happens

B{

Yep , same experience with one of my AR stocks . Not to worry .

God bless

Wyr