Sign in to follow this  
ItaloAmerican

Bushmaster .223

I'm about to purchase a Bushmaster for home defense. My application will likely not exceed 200 yards, ever. I'd really like the 16" bbl over the 20", but I don't want to sacrifice accuracy. At a 1 in 9"twist, with the normal 55 gr bullet, does anyone feel I'll be sacrificing any significant accuracy with the shorter of the two?

I have a Bushmaster with a 14.5 inch barrel and from what I have seen there isn't too much difference ballistically from the two. I have not shot it though and I am of no help to you. When I shoot it I will let you know. I have heard so many different opinions on the shorter barrels and plan to do some of my own tests to find out how deep it will penetrate. I wish I was more help but until the weather warms up I won't know.

I have a Bushmaster with a 14.5 inch barrel and from what I have seen there isn't too much difference ballistically from the two. I have not shot it though and I am of no help to you. When I shoot it I will let you know. I have heard so many different opinions on the shorter barrels and plan to do some of my own tests to find out how deep it will penetrate. I wish I was more help but until the weather warms up I won't know.

:FT: I have the shorty 16 heavy barrel. It shoots in a dime from a rest and has never jamed in the two years I've had it. Heard a lot of talk of the 20 in. barrel being optimal for this caliber. My thinking is a slight loss in Muzz. vel. is worth the trade for a more compact close quarters rifle. Its sill around 3000 fps. and plenty acurate for 300, 400 yds. The trigger is a bit stiff, Ill get that lightened. I like the cheap used Isreal orlite mags. ammo comes out smoother than cheaper metal mags and GI. mags are $40 to $50 each.