• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Brenden Azevedo

Brenden Azevedo

Still Deciding If I Belong Here...

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 August 2004 - 04:29 AM

Hello, it's my first time here, and I want to thank you for opening my thread. I was browsing through looking for any tips that could help my current problem with my M1 rifle, but I needed to get feedback, which wasn't happening.

So anyways, I was showing a bud of mine today how the bolt slams forward after depressing the follower. Now, knowing that the bolt slamming on an empty chamber is hard on the rifle, I inserted one single, empty 30-06 casing, and let the bolt slide forward. The bolt did not reach it's destination; it is stuck, rotated roughly halfway to the left, and I am unable to move it by hand :<rt: . I disassembled the rifle into the 3 main groups to get a closer look, but the bolt will simply not budge an inch. I cannot slide it forward, I cannot slide it backward. I've tried inserting a metal tube into the barrel, the same instrument I use to partially clean the before after a day at the range, and the bolt will still not move.

I am most likely going to be taking the rifle to the local gunsmith if I cannot correct the problem myself within the next 48 hours. :-:

Any tips?

P.S.

The rifle is standard military issue, manufactured in late 1944/1945, and serial # 3439222.

Edited by Brenden Azevedo, 02 August 2004 - 04:30 AM.

#2 Typeopos Re: My M1 Garand's bolt is 'locked'

Typeopos

I support my local stripper

• Members
  • 1,674 posts

Posted 02 August 2004 - 07:51 AM

you may have already checked, but on the right side of the receiver/ bolt area, check to make sure the guide rod for the bolt carrier is not out of its groove, this happen to my girlfriends father, every week or so when he pulls the bolt open because he pulls to one side too much, ill try to find a diagram and circle the part im referring to

#3 Typeopos Re: My M1 Garand's bolt is 'locked'

Typeopos