• Create Account

Photo
- - - - -

The REAL cause of the ammunition shortage

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
22 replies to this topic

#1 Zinger

Zinger

Apache

• Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 22 August 2009 - 02:16 AM

The ammunition shortage has been quite a topic in the news and forum posts for quite some time now and it is interesting to read the many opinions of what is causing it. All my life I have analyzed things for a living to determine why they are not working correctly and, I might add, I am pretty good at it. This is going to be a somewhat lengthy post but I hope that you will enjoy reading it.

The ammunition shortage, here in Southern California, began to get quite serious in October of 2008. By November, ammo was almost impossible to find. Rim-fire, shotgun and large rifle ammo was still readily available. All of the display handguns in the in the showcases of the stores were wiped out (with the exception of some revolvers and the exotic, high-priced, hand-held cannons such as the Desert Eagle and S&W 500 Mag). Some friends of mine were actually panicking because they could not find any ammo for their weapons.

I searched on line and found several opinions as to why this was happening (Obama, the democrats, restriction of ammo purchases, hoarding, metal shortages and pricing etc).

I had a planned trip to Southern Utah for the graduation of a nephew so I figured I would use that opportunity to purchase some ammunition while I was there since they don’t have the population density that we have here. After all, Southern Utah is full of guns and ammo based on my past visits there.