• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Sailor Dicky

Sailor Dicky

I need to post more.

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 May 2009 - 10:45 AM

Hey guys, this is my first ever forum post so forgive me if it is unclear at all. I rescently saved a Marlin 30-30 from certain neglect in my brother-in-law's closet. I believe it is a model 336A. When I cock it, the lever locks down and I can't close it unless I stick a pen in the gap between the trigger guard and the lever joint. I'm not sure if it is the ejector sticking or what. This is my first lever action so I have little to no knowledge on the internals. Anyone have any ideas or guidance?

Also, I was reading about the soft tipped ammunition made for lever actions, is it really necessary or can I just sight this thing in with the cheap stuff?

~Dicky

#2 CulminatingJoe Re: Problem with my Marlin 30-30

CulminatingJoe

RKI#7

• Senior Moderator
  • 5,259 posts

Posted 10 May 2009 - 04:29 PM

Not sure on the hammer problem, I'd need to get my hands on it and fiddle about.

My 336A is fed Hornady Lever revolutions. 160 gr flexi points in a spitzer shape. Shoot very accurately for a lever (~2.5 to 3inchs at 100m) and allegedly the velocity is good. I do know they bloody flattened the 10 goats I got on my last trip. Crackerjack dropping power.

Use the cheap stuff if you like...I want to hit and kill what I aim at.

#3 Sailor Dicky Re: Problem with my Marlin 30-30

Sailor Dicky

I need to post more.

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 May 2009 - 10:51 PM

Culminating Joe, Thanks alot for the reply. I've heard great things about the Lever revolutions and I do plan on using them when I hunt, but I plan on using the cheap stuff when I'm just plinking around. My question was more about the safety of hard pointed bullets in the magazine tube. I've heard horror stories of one bullet hitting the primer on the bullet in front. Is this a valid concern?

#4 Sailor Dicky Re: Problem with my Marlin 30-30

Sailor Dicky