> Playback [6 CD Box Set]

gif store
Enter the brand, size, style, or product you are looking for!

Playback [6 CD Box Set].
 View Shopping Cart or Checkout 

Alternative Rock
Broadway & Vocalists
Children's Music
Classic Rock
Comedy & Spoken Word
Dance & Electronic
Holiday & Wedding
Latin Music
New Age
Opera & Classical Vocal
Rap & Hip-Hop
Special Interest
World Music
by: Various Artists, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

 : Playback [6 CD Box Set]
Picture: Playback [6 CD Box Set]'s Price: $38.87
as of 09/26/2018 06:32 EDT Details

Availability: Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your credit card will not be charged until we ship the item.

Check Sales Price and Availability

This item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.
Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
Brand: MCA
EAN: 0008811137526
Feature: Shrink-wrapped
Format: Box set
Item Dimensions: 1651228146626
Label: Geffen
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Geffen
MPN: 008811137526
Number Of Discs: 6
Number Of Items: 6
Publication Date: November 20, 1995
Publisher: Geffen
Release Date: November 20, 1995
Studio: Geffen

  • Shrink-wrapped

Disc 1:
  1. Breakdown
  2. American Girl
  3. Hometown Blues
  4. Anything That's Rock 'N' Roll
  5. I Need To Know
  6. Listen To Her Heart
  7. When The Time Comes
  8. Too Much Ain't Enough
  9. No Second Thoughts
  10. Baby's A Rock 'N' Roller
  11. Refugee
  12. Here Comes My Girl
  13. Even The Losers
  14. Shadow Of A Doubt (A Complex Kid)
  15. Don't Do Me Like That
  16. The Waiting
  17. A Woman In Love
  18. Something Big
  19. A Thing About You
  20. Insider
  21. You Can Still Change Your Mind
Disc 2:
  1. You Got Lucky
  2. Change Of Heart
  3. Straight Into Darkness
  4. The Same Old You
  5. Rebels
  6. Don't Come Around Here No More
  7. Southern Accents
  8. Make It Better (Forget About Me)
  9. The Best Of Everything
  10. So you Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star
  11. Don't Bring Me Down
  12. Jammin' Me
  13. It'll All Work Out
  14. Mike's Life/Mike's World
  15. Think about Me
  16. A Self-Made Man
Disc 3:
  1. Free Fallin'
  2. I Won't Back Down
  3. Love Is A Long Road
  4. Runnin' Down A Dream
  5. Yer So Bad
  6. Alright For Now
  7. Learning To Fly
  8. Into The Great Wide Open
  9. All Or Nothin'
  10. Out In The Cold
  11. Built To Last
  12. Mary Jane's Last Dance
  13. Christmas All Over Again
Disc 4:
  1. Casa Dega
  2. Heartbreaker's Beach Party
  3. Trailer
  4. Cracking Up
  5. Psychotic Reaction (Live)
  6. I'm Tired Joey Boy (Live)
  7. Lonely Weekends (Live)
  8. Gator On The lawn
  9. Make That Connection
  10. Down The Line
  11. Peace In L.A. (Peace Mix)
  12. It's Rainin' Again
  13. Somethin' Else (Live)
  14. I Don't Know What To Say To You
  15. King's Highway (Live)
Disc 5:
  1. On The Street
  2. Depot Street
  3. Cry To Me
  4. Don't Do Me Like That (Mudcrutch Version)
  5. I Cant' Fight It
  6. Since You Said You Loved Me
  7. Louisiana Rain
  8. Keeping Me Alive
  9. Turning Point
  10. Stop Draggin' My Heart Around (Demo)
  11. The Apartment Song (Demo)
  12. Big Boss Man
  13. The Image Of Me
  14. Moon Pie
  15. The Damage You've Done (Country Version)
Disc 6:
  1. Got My Mind Made Up (Original Version)
  2. Ways To Be Wicked
  3. Can't Get Her Out
  4. Waiting For Tonight
  5. Travelin'
  6. Baby, Let's Play House
  7. Wooden Heart
  8. God's Gift To Man
  9. You Get Me High
  10. Come On Down To My House
  11. You Come Through
  12. Up In Mississippi Tonight
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
One of the shining lights of '70s, '80s and '90s rock 'n' roll gets his own boxed set, and it's a doozy! The first three discs are devoted to the must-have tracks from all of Tom's albums up through 1993, and then come the real goodies: a disc of rare B-sides and then two discs of unreleased tracks (27 in all!), including Elvis covers, curiosities like a pre-Stevie Nicks version of Stop Draggin' My Heart Around , demos, live takes and more, plus an 84-page color booklet.
Tom Petty peaked early. In 1974, Petty's northern Florida bar band, Mudcrutch, moved to L.A., signed a deal with Shelter Records, and transformed itself into Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers. By 1976, they had released their self-titled debut album, a seemingly impossible blend of the Byrds' jangly harmonies and Southern-California idealism with the Rolling Stones' bluesy punchiness and working-class grittiness. The rhythm section rocked; Mike Campbell was an effortlessly elegant guitarist, and Petty himself was a passionate singer. By the third album, 1979's Damn the Torpedoes, the band was creating such timeless rock & roll singles as "Refugee" and "Even the Losers." By 1980 their best music was behind them. The rhythms slackened; the melodies no longer grabbed; the performances lacked the same urgency. They played with admirable craft and sold millions of records, but they never again made music as powerful as their first three albums. This creates a serious imbalance in this box set, "Playback" (MCA), which fits 21 songs from the first four albums onto one overwhelming CD and then fills up another five CDs with 71 more tracks, which suffer by comparison. For the hardcore Petty fan, though, Playback is a treasure trove of obscurities. While most box sets adopt an 80/20 split between greatest hits and rarities, "Playback" is closer to 50/50, and includes B-sides never released in album form, rare Mudcrutch cuts, shelved studio tracks, and cover versions of songs by Jimmy Reed, Conway Twitty, and Elvis Presley. --Geoffrey Himes

Customer Reviews
Average Rating: none

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display


Amazon Affiliate Disclaimer: Please note that all product images and descriptions are produced and served from and this site is not responsible for copyright issues arising from their use. If you feel that is improperly using an image, please contact them.

Music Playback [6 CD Box Set]

Gold Box: Daily Specials with deep discounts.